Only for the New York Philharmonic

3 musicals in 5 months made the end of 2013 perhaps the busiest yet. Even before Big Fish had its Broadway opening in October, I had started orchestrating The Landing, which is 3 one-act musicals by John Kander. (The writing team of John Kander and the late Fred Ebb gave us Cabaret, Chicago, The Scottsboro Boys and many other classics). Then, at the moment that I would have had a break from the world of deadlines, I was offered another show to orchestrate, this time from Misi Murillo of Bogotá Columbia. The show, Por Siempre Navidad, was a labor of love, and I treasure my new friendship with Misi, Leo, Nicholas, Ricardo and so many others in Misi’s theatrical family. Everything about this show is sensational.  Not an ordinary Xmas show, it’s a full book musical – Misi’s songs are inspired – and she even found an arranger named Nicholas.

I did finally get some time off in December, and when the phone did ring, I was glad it wasn’t another enormous musical. Unfortunately, the request was for a new arrangement of “Auld Lang Syne!” (I never did like that song) – But since it was to be premiered with the New York Philharmonic on New Year’s Eve, I said “yes.”

Now after a short trip to L.A. and San Diego, I am back to work on what I hope are the finishing touches for the launch of TrackSlayer!

Leave a Reply

